top of page
  • Writer's pictureMaria McQuade

Self-love: Paris Edition

In the city of love, why not fall in love with yourself?


Like everyone else, I've always heard about Paris. Friends, the media, and family, have told me how dreamy and interesting it is. I was intrigued to see if it could live up to the hype. And yes, in a way it did. I think Paris is so important to so many people because everyone finds different meaning, and gains different lessons from their experience in Paris.

Lately, I’ve been focusing a lot on personal development, specifically on loving myself more and becoming more confident. In the midst of work and getting ready for my big trip, I had started putting myself lower on my priority list. So, it was time to reflect, and figure out how to get back on track.


One of the biggest lessons that I’ve learned lately is that self-love is not linear. Coming from someone who loves to check off their to do list, I was slightly surprised to figure out that loving myself couldn’t be checked off my list too. Yes, I realized that checking off self love sounds ridiculous but I think that speaks to the point where I had put myself on my priority list.

I think that loving the person that you are is something that you have to make a continous effort towards doing—and you can’t ever stop reminding yourself that you love the person that you are. So how does this relate to Paris? In Paris, I decided to focus a lot on self-love. I figured, in the city of love, why not fall in love with yourself?



While my friends and I were in Paris, we had a good chunk of time where we were able to go off in the city on our own and do whatever we wanted to. I did my research on some of my favorite travel blogs, and headed out to explore what Paris had to offer. I wandered the streets, and had a lot of time to think, and to really enjoy my alone time for the first time in a while. Before this trip, a lot of my alone time was spent working on my assignments and papers, where I was mostly stressed rather than enjoying being alone. But, Paris was different. I ate pastries on my own, shopped a bit, and saw some of the sights that I wanted to see--all by myself. And let me tell you, it was great.

“In the city of love, why not fall in love with yourself?”

This week, find an activity that most people would do with others, and do it alone. Spend some quality time with just you, and you might find yourself falling back in love with the incredible person that you are--all over again.




60 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page