top of page
  • Writer's pictureMaria McQuade

What they don’t tell you

26 day backpacking trip here we go...


Starting on March 23rd, 2019 I set off on a trip of a lifetime. Like I've mentioned before, my program at University of Glasgow gives us a generous spring break of almost four weeks. Because of this, my friends and I decided to plan a backpacking trip across Europe. All of our itineraries were slightly different (some day trips, different people splitting off), but mine was 14 cities, 10 countries, in 26 days. Yes, it's pretty insane, but why not do it while I'm young right? So, what places were on my list?


Today marks day 19 of my continental Europe backpacking trip, and let me tell you--I am very tired. I don't know why I am surprised by this, but I am. I knew before this that traveling was tiring but I didn't realize how tough traveling consecutively for long periods of time can be! I have been slightly delayed on posting this travel update, partially because every time I sit down to write it I find myself wanting to take a quick nap instead. But, I wanted to hop on here and share some of my experiences and takeaways from my trip so far!



1. Traveling is Tiring

I swear I've never been more tired than I am right now, and that's saying something. It's day 19, and I am pretty sure that if my body let me, I would nap for 2 days straight! While I have loved every minute of this trip, I am definitely exhausted. There was a moment the other week when I was sitting at the top of the Fisherman's Bastion in Budapest, Hungary watching the sunset where I was thinking to myself, "Am I exhausted? Yes. Is it 100% worth it? Yes." I am most likely not going to go on a trip like this for a long time, so I am trying to make the most of it when possible. But, like everything else, it is important to take breaks! Each day, I prioritize what I am doing, and if I am really tried by the end of my list, then I go back to where I am staying and don't feel bad about it. Take care of yourself, you have to in order to really enjoy what you are doing--whatever that is.




2. They never told me that I would miss Glasgow

I know I haven't been away from Glasgow for that long, but I miss it already. There is something about that place that has my whole heart (but more on associating places with ideas in another blog post). I have loved seeing so many fantastic places, but Glasgow will always be home. There is a comfort about Glasgow that I miss, and I am honestly so excited to go back to my favorite cafe and read a book.



3. Traveling with only a carry on and a small backpack is a different experience

For my trip, I am using a big hiking backpack that is basically the size of a normal carry on suitcase. Because Europe has a lot of cobblestones, and sometimes we have to carry our luggage for a while, this made the most sense! I also have a small backpack that my purse goes inside when I am in between places. Since my trip is 26 days long, I figured that I would pack a weeks worth of clothes and do laundry along the way. Thankfully, some of our AirBnbs have had washers (which we have to translate to figure out how to use) but we usually have to air dry our stuff. The weather has been constantly changing though, and I have become okay with the fact that the same jean jacket occurs in most of my instagram photos!



4. I hate tourists

Okay, yes I am also a tourist. But, you can be a good tourist or the ones that people look at, roll their eyes, and say that they hate tourists. I am talking about the latter. Especially in some cities that people go to for their first European trip(like Rome or Paris), tourists can be the worst. When you are traveling, please be aware of your personal space, your children, and your stuff! A bit of common sense can go a long way!



5. Finding time for gratitude

In the midst of everything, I have tried to find time to be grateful for being able to travel this much, and for my own personal journey. A lot of time I do this by staying in one place for a moment, closing my eyes, and just thinking "this is where you are, and it is amazing." Wherever you are, recognize that where you are in your personal development is fantastic, and when you want to remember a moment to stop and recognize what is going on around you.



6. It hasn't hit me yet

It hasn't hit me that this is my life, that I am traveling to a different country every few days. But in a way, I think that's a good thing, because I am trying to take each day as it comes and welcome new expereiences with open arms.







63 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page