top of page
  • Writer's pictureMaria McQuade

Six Steps to a Wholesome Weekend

York, friendship, and how to make your trip wholesome


Last week, my friend Sophia and I decided to go on a (somewhat) spontaneous trip to York, England. I knew that I wanted to go to a smaller city in England besides London, but I wasn’t really that picky on which city it was. So, Sophia and I narrowed down some cities, and York ended up being the cutest/most cost effective. Neither one of us knew much about the city, but we were excited to find out.


The trip was the first time that Sophia and I had traveled together, and it was so much fun! It was a truly wholesome trip, and we were both so happy with how it turned out. What does wholesome mean? Something that is wholesome is full of good vibes, and makes you happy in a very simple way. A good conversation with a friend, or reading a book with a cup of tea while it’s raining outside, so many things can be wholesome! Keep reading to find out how to take your trip from cute to wholesome!





1. Pick your destination carefully

For a wholesome trip, going to a city is good, but not too big of a city. You want a balance of enough things to do but also not so crazy that you are exhausted from doing just touristy things all day. For York, this meant going to the York Minster (which I highly recommend), which was more touristy, and then wandering around Shambles Market and York’s adorable streets!


2. Wander, and figure it out along the way

Due to the fact that York is a very wander-able place, it was so nice to just wander and figure it out along the way (coming from me, this a shocking thing to hear me say). One of my favorite parts was in Shambles Market (which is everyday in York!) where Sophia and I got homemade fudge. Definitely the best fudge I’ve ever had!




3. Have a cute friend date!

For dinner on our first day, Sophia and I decided to treat ourselves to a nicer dinner than we were used to. The Italian restaurant that we ended up at was actually really nice, and we ended up getting drinks, a main course, and dessert. For university students, having nice meals out are few and far between. During our dinner, Sophia and I bonded over shared experiences and opened up about our respective pasts. In the midst of an eventful semester studying abroad, sitting down and having a simple, nice dinner with a new friend was something that neither one of us realized we needed.


4. Get to know your pal more, make the trip about friendship

While Sophia and I were friends before our little excursion, we really got to know a lot more about one another on this trip. Wholesome trips are more about

friendship than anything else, about making special memories with that friend. While Sophia navigated us through the city, we got to know each other more. We were excited about exploring, but even more excited that we had found a new travel buddy.


5. Give yourselves downtime to balance things out

One of the most important things that I have done for myself when I’m traveling is to give myself downtime. While exploring a new city or a new place is fantastic, you won’t be able to enjoy it as much if you are exhausted. Sometimes all you need is 15 minutes to just look at your phone in a coffee shop, not thinking too much, so you can pay attention later to the sights you are seeing. Trying to push through the whole time is impossible, and you will make yourself sick trying to do so. Instead, prioritize the places you are thinking about going, and if you have an extra two hours, it is perfectly okay to just sit somewhere and relax.


6. Two days, and one night

For a truly wholesome trip, just doing two days and one night is perfect! You have enough time for your cute friend date, some sightseeing, and finding what makes the place you are visiting special. But, it is also affordable and might just be the getaway you need. Everyone feels restless sometimes, so next time you do--plan a wholesome trip with a pal!






Want to see more about what happened on my trip to York? Check out the video below!



60 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page